Ryan Villopoto earned his 41st career Monster Energy Supercross victory in Las Vegas, Nev. (Photo: Monster Energy Kawasaki)

earned his 41st career Monster Energy victory in , Nev. (Photo: Monster Energy Kawasaki)

Ryan Villopoto capped off his title-winning season with a dominant win in front of a sold-out crowd at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev.

After wrapping up his fourth consecutive Monster Energy Supercross Championship last week in East Rutherford, N.J., the Monster Energy Kawasaki rider entered the season finale with no pressure and it showed. Villopoto kicked off the night with a masterful performance in his heat race and followed it up with a wire-to-wire victory in the 450SX main event.

“It is a long season, and it is hard, but I have good people behind me that give it 100 percent,” said Villopoto, who now has 41 career victories. “Something started to click for me about halfway through the season, and I am excited to have another championship.”

Red Bull KTM’s finished second in the 20-lap feature and was second in the series standings, 64 points behind Villopoto. Two-time winner finished his rookie campaign with a third-place finish, slotting him in third in the standings.

The start of the 450SX main event saw Jake Weimer jump out to an early lead, but he was no match for Villopoto. After passing his teammate, Villopoto remained unchallenged for the remainder of the race. Dungey and Roczen passed Weimer on Lap 2 and comfortably secured their podium positions.

James Stewart, a five-time winner this season, suffered damage to his bike after making contact with another rider on the start. The Yoshimura Suzuki rider pulled off the track and would not finish for the second race in a row. He fell to fourth in the standings.

450SX Class Results: Las Vegas
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
3. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
4. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda
5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda
6. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Suzuki
7. Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha
8. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
9. Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda
10. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM

450SX Class Season Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 368
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 304
3. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 285
4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 272
5. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 250
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 218
7. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 196
8. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Suzuki, 159
9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 126
10. Wil Hahn, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 122

Tags: , , , ,