Marc Marquez rockets to his eighth pole of the season. (Photo: Dorna Communications)

rockets to his seventh pole of the season. (Photo: Dorna Communications)

Marc Marquez notched a new best pole lap in the Q2 session at the German Grand Prix, with and also on the front row – Pedrosa setting a fast lap before a crash.

A 1:20.937 effort from Marquez gave him pole by just under 0.3s from Repsol Honda colleague Pedrosa who went down at Turn 1 with three minutes remaining. The rapid lap time for Marquez broke Casey Stoner’s six-year old best pole lap record of 1:21.067 from 2008.

The home fans were delighted with Bradl registering a 1:21.340 lap, as the German qualified third having initially been on provisional pole five minutes into the session.

For full Q2 results from Sachsenring click here.

The second row, meanwhile features a strong Yamaha presence with Open-equipped Aleix Espargaro placing his Forward-Yamaha machine ahead of the factory Movistar Yamaha MotoGP machines of Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi on the grid.

Andrea Iannone impressed again in seventh, ahead of Monster Tech 3 teammates Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith on row three. Smith suffered a fourth crash of the weekend in Q2 but was not hurt.

Alvaro Bautista was 10th, whilst Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden complete the fourth row having come through from Q1.

Cal Crutchlow missed out on a Q2 ride having crashed at high speed at Turn 11, taking a big tumble through the gravel at the end of Q1. Crutchlow was unhurt and quickly went back to his pit box for a debrief despite initially looking quite shaken by the accident.

TV ALERT — FOX Sports 1‘s live coverage of the MotoGP German Grand Prix kicks off at 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT with the MOTO2 and MOTO3 races airing back-to-back at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT on FOX Sports 2.

Tags: , , , ,