Scott Speed leads the field during the Global Rallycross final at X Games Austin. (Photo: Red Bull GRC)

leads the field during the final at Austin. (Photo: Red Bull GRC)

Ex- and NASCAR driver Scott Speed raced to his second career X Games Rallycross gold medal on Saturday at Circuit of The Americas.

Speed, who earned his first X Games gold medal last season in Foz do Iguaçu, Brazil, dominated Saturday’s proceedings at the state-of-the-art circuit which usually plays host to Formula 1 and MotoGP races. After winning both of his heats and the two qualifiers, Speed led all 10 laps in the final to clinch X Games gold.

“I can’t say enough about this Volkswagen 7-Up Andretti automobile,” Speed told ESPN. “This thing is always so fast it’s just a matter for us of staying clean. We get out in front, they can’t catch us. It feels great to get Volkswagen’s first gold here. Honestly, it’s just the car: The car’s so good, it made my job easy.”

Speed and Andretti Autosport are perfect on the season, winning the season opener at the Top Gear Festival Barbados and now round two in Austin, Texas.

Skateboard legend finished second to earn the silver medal followed by ex-F1 and NASCAR racer in the bronze-medal position. It was the first time both drivers have ever medaled in a Global Rallycross event, however, Lasek is no stranger to the X Games podium. The 41-year-old has collected 13 medals in skateboard vert competition, including six golds.

Former NASCAR favorite was entered in the event, but failed to advance out of the semi-finals.

The main event was red flagged early on when Austin Dyne and Patrik Sandell made contact in the hairpin. Dyne suffered a broken suspension and was unable to continue, while Sandell was parked for causing the incident.

The remaining drivers — Speed, Piquet, Lasek and Liam Doran — restarted with eight laps to go. Speed was clutch from the starting line and once again shot into the lead. As his competitors fought over second, Speed pulled a gap and was unchallenged for the remainder of the race.

Lasek and Doran went wheel-to-wheel for second on the final lap, with the latter spinning out in the final turn. Doran tried to get going again, but would lose third to Piquet.

Round three of the Global Rallycross Championship takes place on June 22 at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C., where Speed will look to make it three wins in a row.

Tags: , , , , , , ,